South Kitsap Fire and Rescue is currently governed by a Board of five elected Fire Commissioners. They manage and oversee the general operation of the South Kitsap Fire and Rescue, as well as the financial oversight. The Commissioners are elected for six year, staggered terms, and provide a direct link to our citizens.

2018 Commissioners Meeting Schedule

2018 KCFCA Meeting Schedule


Gerald (Jerry) Preuss

Gerald (Jerry) Preuss – Position 1
Term of Office – January 2016-December 2021

Jerry was appointed by the Board as Fire Commissioner starting March 23, 2006. He replaced Position #1 Commissioner Roger Wiley who resigned as commissioner of South Kitsap Fire and Rescue as of January 31, 2006. Jerry has strong leadership skills and has been involved in the community through the Manchester Port District, South Kitsap Helpline, First Lutheran Church, and has served on South Kitsap Fire and Rescue’s Community Budget Review Committee Board.

D.W. “Dusty” Wiley (Vice Chair) – Position 2
Term of Office – January 2014-December 2019

Dusty grew up in a firefighting family as a son of a South Kitsap Fire and Rescue firefighter and commissioner. As a law enforcement officer, Dusty worked hand in hand with firefighters throughout his career. In 1993, Dusty decided to run for the commissioners post because he felt the board needed new blood and a fresh outlook. He sees adequately staffing for future growth and maintaining the District’s equipment arsenal on the cutting edge of technology as the biggest future challenges.


Mike Eslava – Position 3
Term of Office – January 1, 2018-December 31, 2023

Mike was elected to office in 2012. Eslava worked at South Kitsap Fire and Rescue for 32 years, and volunteered with the fire department for 10 years before that, starting when he was in high school.

Dave Gelsleichter – Position 4
Term of Office – January 2015-December 2021

Dave began his volunteer career in the fire service in 1971, serving in positions ranging from firefighter to Chief at Sunnyslope, District 6. In 1989 Gelsleichter ran for fire commissioner and was elected, eventually seeing his vision to merge with South Kitsap Fire and Rescue become a reality.

Paul Golnik (Chair) – Position 5
Term of Office – January 2014-December 2019

Paul was appointed by the Board as Fire Commissioner starting March 10, 2005. Paul was elected to Fire Commissioner in the November 2005 election. He is a Captain with Bremerton Fire Department and a long time resident of South Kitsap.